Speaking at L.M. Montgomery Day: October 24, 2015

12141701_541372706017627_4148604430186360798_nThis weekend in Leaksdale, Ontario the Lucy Maud Montgomery Society of Ontario is holding its annual L.M. Montgomery Day featuring lectures and discussions by Benjamin Lefebvre, Vanessa Brown, Kate MacDonald Butler and me.  I’ll be talking about Montgomery as teen writer,“Fairy Slopes and Phantom Shadows: L.M. Montgomery as Teen Poet.”

The day’s theme is, “Maud’s Landscapes: The Effect of Nature on Her Writing,” inspired by a life-sized bronze statue of “Maud in the Garden” in the Commemorative Garden at the Historic Leaskdale Church.

In the afternoon there is going to be the book launch for L.M. Montgomery’s Rainbow Valleys: The Ontario Years 1911 – 1942, where my first academic essay can be found. We’ve been asked to write up something about how our essay relates to the books theme and it is bound to be a really lovely launch. IMG_1972

I’m looking forward to spending a weekend with my LMM peeps. It always feels a little bit like a reunion with people coming from all over the world.

When: Saturday, October 24, 2015, 8:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Where: Historic Leaskdale Church

About Melanie J. Fishbane

My novel, MAUD: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery was published in 2017 through Penguin Random House on April 25, 2017. I hold an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Here I talk about my writing process, things I love, and creative people who inspire me.
This entry was posted in Anne of Green Gables, Children's Literature, L.M. Montgomery, Teen lit, Writing, Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Speaking at L.M. Montgomery Day: October 24, 2015

  1. sandranickel says:

    I wish I could have been there to see you!

Leave a Reply

