Brooding Boys and Loyal Lovers: The Perfect Man Archetype

As I mentioned, I’m guest blogging on Ingrid’s Notes this week, talking about one of my favourite topics: The Perfect Man Archetype. I’ve discussed this at length on Wild About Words, but here it is, all nicely laid out for you. Enjoy!

Ingrid's Notes

by Melanie Fishbane

Boys in Books ButtonOver the last decade, lists, blog posts, and articles have surfaced online that speak to the first book crush. I was so curious about this, that I’ve spent the last two and half years exploring this connection between YA authors and their literary ancestors and between authors and their fans.  This blog post is sort of a fast and dirty look at some of the material that I’ve looked at. There is feminist and literary theory hiding behind these conclusions, so here’s hoping you can follow my train of thought in 1000 words or less.

Authors have books that inspire them.  L.M. Montgomery loved Jane Austen and the Brontë sisters and Stephenie Meyer loves Austen, the Brontës and the Anne of Green Gables books – there is even an AGG reference in Eclipse. The Female Literary Tradition is one of the ways in which women can…

View original post 878 more words

About Melanie J. Fishbane

My novel, MAUD: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery was published in 2017 through Penguin Random House on April 25, 2017. I hold an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Here I talk about my writing process, things I love, and creative people who inspire me.
This entry was posted in Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brooding Boys and Loyal Lovers: The Perfect Man Archetype

  1. L. Marie says:

    Love this post so much. Ah, the perfect man archetype. I crushed hard on Sydney Carton in A Tale of Two Cities. I like a damaged hero. Love Darcy too, but Sydney’s my boy! I also loved Arthur Clennam in Dickens’s Little Dorrit. So, in my novels I tend to create heroes with some issues.

  2. That is so interesting. What is it about Sydney that makes you swoon over him?

    • L. Marie says:

      His brilliance and sacrificial nature. Yet he’s steadily drinking himself to death, so obviously a relationship wouldn’t go anywhere. 🙂 But he’s more interesting than his doppelganger, Charles Darnay.

  3. Are there other things that make him more interesting? Is Charles Darney just boring

Leave a Reply

