What Will Be…Will Be

Today we find out who we will work with for the semester. I like the idea that I have some kind of control over the process. That I can go down the line of really talented award-winning authors and pick who I think will best serve me. 

But in reality, I won’t know until it happens, so, why worry about it right?

So, I push it to the far recesses of my mind. Telling my mind chatter once again to go to sleep for a while…or at least go watch T.V. for me because Republic of Doyle has started up this week and I have to wait until I get home to watch it. 

I know what I think that I want from an adviser. Someone who will help me fix what is broken in my novel. Someone who is open to, shall we say, some literary obsessions that I want to continue to work on. Someone who will be kind but firm and explain to me why they are doing something. I am happy to go along with a process, if you give me a clue as to why I’m going there. 


I think that is what did me in Masters #1. I have certainly understood NOW what my thesis adviser was doing, but she never quite told me that was what she was doing. And, yes, it is a process. And, yes, she did her job and taught me how to write critically well…But, I would hate to go back into a scenario in which that would happen again.


But it won’t. Because it won’t. And that is it. Until I know. And I won’t know. So, I guess that I might as well go down to breakfast, have some lumpy oatmeal and tell my mind chatter to go watch Republic of Doyle…




About Melanie J. Fishbane

My novel, MAUD: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery was published in 2017 through Penguin Random House on April 25, 2017. I hold an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Here I talk about my writing process, things I love, and creative people who inspire me.
This entry was posted in VCFA, Writing, Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Will Be…Will Be

  1. Love this trailer clip – I've never heard of this movie! I'll have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

