Focusing on the Good News

I had the best news last week which got overshadowed by some crazy stupidity at work and I realize that I MUST MUST MUST distance myself from the day to day that is really about helping me make money, then a life goal. My life goals are far different.

My big news: My proposal for the Lucy Maud Montgomery conference for this coming June was accepted! That means that I get to go to the P.E.I. (one of my favourite places in the whole world) and speak about one of my favourite authors among other authors and scholars that I respect. This is the link to the conference: http://www.lmmontgomery.ca/node/162

. As you might recall, I posted all about the last time that I went to P.E.I. and how transformative the experience was and how I had hoped to possibly get enough courage to speak myself. Well, here I am, getting ready to return – and this time among the scholars. It is fantastic and amazing and something to look forward too. My partner is going to come with and we are going to do a road trip and see more of the East Coast. I am excited to share my favourite province with him.

What did I propose? Well, remember a number of months ago, I posted about some of the similarities I saw between Montgomery, Jane Austen and Stephenie Meyer? http://mindel-73.livejournal.com/2008/12/24/ Well, I am using part of that and writing about the “cultivation of the perfect man.” Of course, now I have to actually write the paper…sometimes, I admit it is the theorizing and the research that I like the best. But, then again, I AM A WRITER!!!!

I put down into words this morning in a LJ comment my next move too. I wrote it down and now it is true. Carrie Jones http://carriejones.livejournal.com/230920.html who wrote a book called “Need” (which is great)wrote about the death of Norma Fox Mazer, one of the writers I used to read when I was a teen, and what a great teacher she was at the College of Vermont. I forgot that Jones went there. The facilitator from Banff had suggested that I apply to the Writing for Children program. I have all of the information and have told a few people that I am thinking of applying, but I told her that I was. So I guess that means that I am.

If you are interested on the work of Norma Fox Mazer go here: http://community.indigo.ca/posts/Teens-Editor/user-300764/current.html

With all of these exciting things coming together, it is important that I stay positive and not allow outside factors influence me. Those things are other people’s issues and not my own. Now, I need to remember this important truth.

What is interesting to me is that with all of the good news about, I allowed some outside factor to curb my enthusiasm. Its as if I didn’t want myself to be happy for the amazing success that I achieved. Why is it that I would rather torture myself than be happy?

About Melanie J. Fishbane

MAUD, my YA novel based on the teen life of author L.M. Montgomery will be published by Penguin Random House on April 25, 2017. I hold an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Here I talk about my writing process, things I love, and creative people who inspire me.
This entry was posted in Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

