Integration

I know that I haven’t written since I came home from Banff. I was on such a high from the experience, that I wanted to really be in it for as long as possible. It is inevitable that after a while, life returns to whatever one deems normal and somehow I have to figure out how to fit all of the things that are really important into the day.

One thing that I am pretty pleased with, is that I have continued my morning ritual of writing the novel on the bus on the way to work. I have been steadily writing since I got back and that, for me, says everything. I am more determined then ever to write – to continue to master the craft of writing and to finish what I set out to do.

There is a clarity within me, a peacefulness, when I write that doesn’t happen with anything else. I am completely present. To be present has been one of my personal goals. I think that as humans we spend a lot of time looking backward and getting caught up in old wounds. Or, looking forward and panicking about what is to come. I am infamous for the former…well and the latter to. But it is when I start “planning” and think about next year or the year after or where I want to be when I am fourty, then I get completely hysterical. I can actually feel the many molecules within hyperventilating.

It isn’t pretty.

So, the process now has been to remain steadfast in the present. People ask me about the summer and I have no idea. All I see for myself is a lot of pen to paper (or fingers on the keyboard.) But, I see the garden in the backyard overgrowing with weeds and there are obligations that require my attention – in particular my day job which helps me pay for the overgrowing garden in the backyard.

The point is, that I just stay where I need to be. Which is here. Now. Writing.

About Melanie J. Fishbane

MAUD, my YA novel based on the teen life of author L.M. Montgomery will be published by Penguin Random House on April 25, 2017. I hold an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Here I talk about my writing process, things I love, and creative people who inspire me.
This entry was posted in Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

