First Meeting of the Creators

As you might recall, my old friend R and I have made the commitment to meet up once a month to show and discuss our creative pursuits. My friend would be working on some of his music, and I would be sharing with him some of the things that I am writing. We met up for the first time last night and I think we started off positive and with a clear mind of what is to come.

Having worked on three different pieces, (among other things) I shared those with him. It was so nice to have the opportunity to share my writing and discuss some of the things that I have been thinking about. For one thing, I feel stuck in one of the pieces because I feel like I should do more research. My friend counseled that I should just write and drop in those things later. It is wise advise because I think the “research” aspect stops me for moving forward. I can hear the “academic mind” disagreeing with me considerably. But, it is actually a good exercise for if nothing else, I am forced to write without exactly knowing and giving the creativity a free form of expression.

My friend played for me four of his pieces. It was so interesting because when he played the first song, I could totally see where it would be if he recorded a CD and with the others, even the one with no lyrics, I could imagine what it was about. We would discuss where he was when he wrote the pieces and where he would go from there.

I was encouraged to continue on the main novel that I am writing right now. And, so, I am bravely moving forward into that great next section. I don’t know what the characters want from me just yet, which is kind of exciting, and part of the fun.

About Melanie J. Fishbane

MAUD, my YA novel based on the teen life of author L.M. Montgomery will be published by Penguin Random House on April 25, 2017. I hold an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Here I talk about my writing process, things I love, and creative people who inspire me.
This entry was posted in Talented Friends, Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

