Reading. Listening. Writing.

So, I am feeling a little perplexed. I have this idea for a paper that is more academic than creative which stems from my work with teen literature, and my academic background in children’s literature which includes, of course, L.M. Montgomery. Since the conference that I attended last June in P.E.I, I have been thinking a lot about this and only lately, have I been able to put it into a greater context. But, what it means however, is that I am finding that I am pulled to do more research and reading then writing and this worries me for a couple of reasons.
1) That I am using my other interests to avoid writing altogether
2) That this will end up no where and I have successfully avoided writing altogether by acutally producing nothing.

Yet, as I write this, I harken back to yesterday afternoon where I sat and wrote an outline and a few different scenes or scenerios based on some of these same theories. So, by doing more research and reading, I could be in essence giving me a more solid foundation to write what I want to write about.

I also know that I am mulling over how this other piece of writing I am working on will evolve. On Sunday, I started seeing the characters more fully realized in their goals. But the exact scenerios of their evolvement is still uncertain. I find that I am great at a general story line but how I get from A to B is not always clear to me – much like life I guess. I know that is part of the fun of it – but there is a mugginess in the writing that makes me nervous.

Yet, I find the muse comes too. My partner and I watched the biopic about Ian Curtis from Joy Division called Control. It was an excellent movie. If you like Joy Division or interested in that period of music, I highly recommend it. Watching an interpretation on how Curtis’s wrote his songs was interesting. And then I found myself being inspired by Love Will Tear Us Apart Again and wanting to use the themes that I sensed in the song as it tied to something I wrote. Amazing how one thing will inspire another – I ponder what Curtis would say about that!

As you can tell, I continue to be vague about what I am working on. I am not ready to bring my writings out to the public. If I have my way, it won’t be until it is published :). But as this blog is about my process of writing, what exactly what I am writing about or on, isn’t necessarily important. It is how I get to that place of writing that is.

About Melanie J. Fishbane

My novel, MAUD: A Novel Inspired by the Life of L.M. Montgomery was published in 2017 through Penguin Random House on April 25, 2017. I hold an MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from the Vermont College of Fine Arts. Here I talk about my writing process, things I love, and creative people who inspire me.
This entry was posted in Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

